The Archibald Prize - Australia’s most coveted portraiture award.

For those who are blissfully unaware The Archibald Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious art awards, featuring the “who’s who of Australian culture”. The art prize is awarded annually to the best portrait, “preferentially of some man or woman distinguished in art, letters, science or politics, painted by any artist resident in Australasia.” Along with the Archibald Prize there is also a Packing Room Prize and People’s choice Award.First awarded in 1921 the man behind the prize JF Archibald (1856-1919) - a journalist and founder of the Bulletin magazine, who also served as a trustee of the Art Gallery of NSW - created the prize with the intention to support artists and perpetuate the memory of great Australian’s whilst also fostering portrait painting within the country.

This year’s Archibald entrants have already been shortlisted to a selection of finalists and from this select group of portraits the winner will be chosen (see the finalists here).

As you can imagine, with such a coveted award comes many, many entries, Red Hill Gallery would like to show you a few of our talented artists entries that the general public do not usually have the opportunity to view! And although we have the privilege of representing previous Archibald finalists such as Dean Reilly (2010 finalist) and Fu Hong (2008 & 2009 finalist), we also have other equally talented artists entering in the award. Bearing this in mind we have contacted our artists and asked them to send in their entries so that we may admire their talent and portraits... here is what some of our artists have sent to us.

The Art Gallery of New South Wales has revealed that of the 860 entrants for the 2013 Archibald Prize, only 39 finalists have been selected. The winner of the $75,000 prize will be announced on March 22.

Nick Young and Fu HongHere is a representation of some of our gallery artists that entered The Archibald this year! What do you think? 'For many are called but few are chosen' Matthew 22:14 Fu Hong (2008 and 2009 Archibald finalist) Nick Young Emma Sheldrake Dan Mason Sonja Perkovich Seabastion Toast References: